Day 4: 4-H

Standard

4h_mark2

“I pledge my head to clearer thinking, my heart to greater loyalty,my hands to larger service, and my health to better living,for my club, my community, my country and my world.”

This pledge is still written into my memory. Having an older sister who was already in 4-h was like torture! I went to the meetings with her and my parents and to all of the shows and events with her, but I still wasn’t allowed in. When I FINALLY was eight by September 1st I was able to become a member of the Strasburg Tailtwisters.

Being a 4-H member at the early age of eight or nine is quite intimidating, because you are still a member until the age of 18. Therefore, a lot of the other kids at the meeting seemed old and scary. Every member is required to give a talk or presentation, my very first one was “how to make a feed scoop.”

4-H was fun, at all of the meetings there were snacks and drinks to enjoy. All of my friends were in 4-H and I met so many new people.

4-H allowed me to learn how to present what I made to an audience. I took public speaking as a project and was able to present my speech at the state fair! I participated in baking, cooking, visual arts, vegetables, flowers, dairy, and hay at the county fair. Each day brought a new adventure, one day I’d be showing cows and then in front of a judge explaining how I made my art project half an hour later.

4-H helps children to gain responsibility and leadership skills. There are all sorts of projects for all types of children, you don’t have to live on a farm to find something that will interest you in 4-H.

I believe that 4-H was a large part of making me the person who I am today. Although I most likely would have been a member without living on a dairy farm, being able to show my animals and teach others about them made it that much more rewarding.

5110_1069956959396_5660181_n

2008, the first time our family had Grand Champion Holstein at the IL State Fair.

1003749_10200221756456841_1999790348_n

Olivia and me, with Adriann and Amber, at my last IL State Fair as a 4-Her

10609584_10202226590016427_2411497698722017856_n

My sisters and me at the Shelby County 4-H Fair this past Summer.

Leave a Reply

